

WILLIAMS-FRANKLIN FOUNDATION NEWSLETTER



July 2020 | Volume 3, Issue 3

2020-21 SCHOLARSHIP AWARD



On July 31, 2020, the Williams-Franklin Foundation hosted its first ever virtual award ceremony. Rather than hosting this event in person, as done in the past, the ceremony was livestreamed via YouTube and Facebook, due to the COVID pandemic. Much to our welcomed surprise, many more supporters, donors, families, and friends were able to join in the celebration of our 21 awardees ("WFF Scholars") from the comfort and safety of their homes. To kick it off, co-founders Dwight and LaShelle (Williams) Franklin began the ceremony introducing the mission of the foundation. LaShelle spoke of her own heartfelt story which ultimately resulted in the start of the foundation. During the ceremony, we had various speakers including board members, donors and a few awardees to share words of wisdom and gratitude for WFF. The highlight of the event was the introduction of our very impressive 21 2020-2021 WFF Scholars hailing from seven different HBCUs.

BOARD MEMBER SPEAKERS



Dr. Keisha Mack, of MECCA Group serves on the board of directors for the Williams-Franklin Foundation. During the ceremony, she stated, "I am so excited we are able to offer scholarships to 21 students this year and it is an amazing feat considering the short amount of time we have been doing this."



J.R Clark, a partner at Squire Patton Boggs, in the Public Finance Practice Group also serves on the board of directors of the Williams-Franklin Foundation. He wanted the WFF scholars to know "John Lewis reminded us that education is a tool for progress. Education is the key to moving our community forward. With those keys we have been given an opportunity. And with that opportunity, we will have been given a responsibility to make our ancestors proud."

SPONSOR MEMBER SPOTLIGHT



William and LaToya Graham of Graham Technologies have also been prominent supporters over the past few years. During the ceremony, Mr. Graham stated, "We would like to thank Dwight and Shelley for starting this foundation. I was able to read all the profiles of the 21 recipients and I was very impressed. Job well done." Mrs. Graham also shared how blessed they were "to be able to give back to the community" and how they "take pride in being part of the village."



Ayo Atterberry, of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, has been a generous sponsor over the past two years. During the ceremony, she stated, "We at Annie E. Casey Foundation are so grateful for the leadership and programming. I love that the foundation provides not just resources but also mentorship to the scholars."

2020-21 AWARDEE SPOTLIGHT

Derrick Webb 2020 Honorable Louis Stokes HBCU Scholar



Derrick Webb is a member of the class of 2023 at Dillard University. This year, as a result of receiving the highest application score, he was the recipient of the 2020 Honorable Louis Stokes HBCU Scholarship. During the ceremony, he stated "I am overwhelmed with gratitude and joy. When I found out I was the Louis Stokes award recipient I could not stop smiling the entire day. This is a blessing for both me and my family. A lot of people don't realize getting access to education can be troublesome. Thank you to the Williams-Franklin Foundation for investing in my education. This is not just an investment for me, but to my community when I come back to help."





MEET 2020-2021 WILLIAMS-FRANKLIN FOUNDATION AWARDEES



Derrick Webb 2020 Honorable Louis Stokes HBCU Scholar
Derrick Webb expected class of 2023, is originally from
Montgomery, Alabama. He is studying. Biology (pre-med) track at
Dillard University. He was a summer Delegate at the Human
Rights Campaign HBCU 2019 Leadership Conference. He is a
member of the NAACP, the Minority Association for Pre- Med
Students, and ambassador at the United Negro College Fund.



Cameron Kee Howard University



Brittany Davis
Howard University



Christyn Carr North Carolina A&T State University



Laten Jordan Howard University



D'Nai Thomas Howard University



Abrianna Canyon Howard University



Indigo Passariello Howard University



Janiya Brooks Howard University



Jenai Frenette Howard University



Khristina Cassanova Howard University



Kelsey Johnson Howard University



Maya Solomon Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University



Na'Charlesia Floyd Xavier University



Serina McMillian Howard University



Virgil Parker Howard University



Zhane Austin Hampton University



Gabriella Forchion Howard University



Eryka Anabell Clarke Howard University



Zuri Godfrey Howard University



Lakiyah Durham Tuskegee University